Lesley Coe’s visit to Alpine Beer Company (I am so JEALOUS!)

Alpine Beer

My incredibly sweet girlfriend Lesley is pregnant with her first babe and I couldn’t be happier!  I get to smell that sweet newborn smell, in hopes to cure my insane craving of having another baby.  Not only is she about to be a new mama, but she is just as passionate about the craft beer industry as I am.  Working together at San Diego Brewing Company, she continued on in the beer world by working for Hess, Ballast Point and currently, Pink Boots Society volunteer, PubCakes assistant and her MOST IMPORTANT JOB EVER-making a baby!

But what I love most about her is her constant interest in visiting new breweries and pubs.  With husband in tow (I can confidently say that he goes willingly and eagerly), Lesley hits up spots all throughout San Diego and LA and once the baby arrives, I am hoping that she does exactly what Tyson and I did—bring the kids!!!

When I found out that she was heading up to the new Alpine brewery, I BEGGED her to snap some photos and to let me know what she thought of Alpine Beer Company’s new location. I am oh-so jealous of her fun time, yummy food and beers that her hubby got to sip on.  I know my time will come, but here is what she thought of my favorite brewery, Alpine Beer Company!

“It’s my husband’s birthday weekend so whatever husband wants, husband gets!  And this time it included a trip to the new Alpine Pub & Restaurant that just opened a week ago down the street from the location of the original brewery and tasting room. With a sweet baby boy on the way, we are always on the look out for kid-friendly craft beer joints that’s we’ll be able to bring the little one to.

Now let me preface this review by saying that they have just been open for less than two weeks so they are definitely ironing out the kinks. I’m sure things will change within the year as they find their groove.

While the new Alpine would be a great date night locale, complete with comfy couches surrounding an outside fire-pit and guest beers on tap along with Alpine favorites and specialties, but for a kid-friendly score, they get an average rating.

Outside Seating
Outside Seating

There’s no specific kid’s menu but menu items can be adjusted to fit kid’s palettes like grilled cheese and mac & cheese. They have high chairs and a section in the back of the restaurant, especially for families, so inside parties with children are seated there. The outside seating area has some dangers for little ones including the fire-pit, big rocks, and a waterfall feature, but there is a grassy area where kids can run around and play.

Service was friendly and attentive, and everyone working seemed happy to be there. Be sure to bring plenty of distractions (and patience) for the kiddos, because it may get crowded FAST. Everything we ordered was delish. The french dip & BBQ chicken sandwich, were comforting and delicious and all our sides including fried green beans and onions rings hit the spot. We left full and happy!

French Dip with Fried Green Beans
French Dip with Fried Green Beans

Also something to note, the paper menus found on the tables listing the beers on tap, didn’t list the ABVs, volume of glasses the beer came in, prices, etc so make sure to ask you server or another staff member. They do have 22oz bottles available for sale as well, so you can enjoy the goodness of Alpine beer at home as well.

So if you’re a fan of Alpine Brewing beer (and who isn’t?), definitely make the drive to Alpine! You can make it a family fun day by pairing it with some bowling at nearby Viejas Bowl, some adventure and education at Sky Falconry, or even drive north a bit more for some pie in Julian! What goes better with some take home pie, than Alpine beer?” 

THANKS LESLEY!!!!!

Leave a comment